Day 43: Thank you’s!

My morning started by meeting with Mr. Sherrard and Nancy at the office. We discussed potential job opportunities and they gave me some great advice. Mr. Sherrard took the MCHES exam last weekend at the SOPHE conference, and I will be taking it this weekend (APRIL 27), so he went over the type of questions that I can expect with me. We then designed a thank you letter to mail/hand deliver to all participating vendors that were at the health fair on Monday. Nancy is going to send it over to the hospital CO to sign first. I called Tara to get a list of all the Naval Hospital staff that participated and then I came home and compiled a list of the outside vendors. I made some phone calls/emails to get some of their names and addresses as well. This was fun because I got to personally thank them again for helping make our health fair a success. The letter they receive via mail will be an official document signed by the CO and describes their efforts in our event which will be something great to share on all of their resumes as well.

Friday I plan to help Mr. Sherrard with another health fair that he is participating in (on base at the NATTC hanger). It is targeted to 18-22 year old military students and their attendance is actually required which makes it interesting. We will be promoting safe sexual contacts, smokeless tobacco, and nutrition. It’s from 9-1 and I will give Mr. Sherrard a break and run the booth from 10:30-1. I’m looking forward to it. This should be a good experience and nice way to end the semester!

I spent the remainder of my afternoon looking up funded certifications on MyCAA through the DoD and their active duty spouse benefit programs. I ended up applying for the American Council on Exercise Group Fitness Instructor Program. I think it will be a good certification to have in case I cannot find a job right away with my CHE degree. I can always use it to teach fitness classes on or off base. They also have a Health Coach Certificate program that I am interested in. I’m allowed up to 2,000 per year of funding from MyCAA and plan to take the Health Coach or some other certification after I complete the GFI (Group Fitness Instructor) exam. 🙂

I also spent more time preparing and studying for the CHES exam today. Lots coming up to get ready for! Graduation is in 10 days– woo hoo!!

Daily hours: 8

Total hours: 350

MyCAA_ACE GFI INFO ON THE GROUP FITNESS INSTRUCTOR (ACE)

MyCAA_ACE HC INFO ON THE HEALTH COACH (ACE)

About BREWATTS

My name is Bre and I am a 23-year-old southern girl {born&raised}, Marine wife {SemperFi}, health educator, and writer. God is my foundation, and through Him, all things are possible. {Philippians 4:13} Family & Friends are my inspiration. Education gives me a passion to inspire others to seek a healthy lifestyle. I hope to do this by sharing tips on fitness, food, and faith with you! And in the midst of it all, I get to write and create the story of my life.

Leave a Reply

