Day 40: Behavioral Health

Hello!

Today was fun. I went to the hospital to meet with the marketing analyst & my health fair committee/partner, Tara Rettig. We talked more into details of the health fair and she informed me on some of the responses from potential vendors. It looks like the CFL is a no and DAPA is a maybe.

At noon, we went down to internal medicine and met LT Martinez who is the Behavioral Health person in the hospital (or one of 3). I had been wanting to meet her after Tara mentioned her as a prospective vendor at our health fair. She was very nice and welcoming to talk with. We discussed my major and internship a little bit and then she told me about herself and what she does at the hospital. Basically, she does a wide range of things (which is similar to someone in community health). Her patients need to make a change whether it be quitting tobacco, healthy eating, establishing weight loss goals for obese/overweight patients, creating fitness plans, counseling, suicide prevention, etc. Her degree is in social work and some of her partners have a degree in psychology. They use a lot of motivational interviewing, which I found to be cool because I’ve learned all about that at school and with the tobacco cessation training I did.

We decided that it would be neat if she participated in the health fair at my table. Since I will be educating on nutrition, she will be there to help with desiring change and making goals. I’m excited about this but I think we need to talk more about this. Mr. Sherrard was out of the office again today, so I plan on talking with him about it as well on Wednesday.

After I left the hospital, I went to the VA clinic to drop off the brochure I made. Since Mr. Sherrard was not there, I left it with Nancy. She’ll give it to him tomorrow and that way he can give me feedback by Wednesday.

*The model below is an example of a behavioral health model. I learned about behavioral health and studied this model in my Changing Health Behaviors course at UWF last semester. Various factors can influence once behaviors (i.e. the individual, environment, community, cultural and social networks).

behavioral health

Daily hours: 8

Total hours: 283

About BREWATTS

My name is Bre and I am a 23-year-old southern girl {born&raised}, Marine wife {SemperFi}, health educator, and writer. God is my foundation, and through Him, all things are possible. {Philippians 4:13} Family & Friends are my inspiration. Education gives me a passion to inspire others to seek a healthy lifestyle. I hope to do this by sharing tips on fitness, food, and faith with you! And in the midst of it all, I get to write and create the story of my life.

Leave a Reply

